Home Namibia Government


Namibia is a presidential representative democratic republic, with the president being elected to a five-year term as both the head of state and the head of government. Executive power lies with the Cabinet while the legislative rests with Parliament, which is bicameral, the National Assembly and the National Council. The judiciary is independent. Constant scrutiny is given to Namibia’s management of the rule of law and the observance of basic human rights.

Branches: Executive President, Prime Minister

Legislative: Bicameral

Parliament: National Assembly and National Council

Judicial: Supreme Court, the High Court, and lower courts

Sub-divisions: 13 administrative regions

Registered political parties: SWAPO, Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA), United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF), Congress of Democrats (COD), Republican Party (RP), National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO), Monitor Action Group (MAG), Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP), South West African National Union (SWANU), All People’s Party (APP), Democratic Party of Namibia (DPN), Namibia Democratic Movement for Change (NDMC)

Suffrage: Universal adult

The Capital

Windhoek lies in a basin between the Khomas Highland, Auas and Eros Mountains at 1,680 metres above sea level, 650km north of the Orange River and 360km from the Atlantic seaboard. The City is perfectly situated at the epicentre of Namibia, making it the ideal capital with obvious trade and administration benefits due to its accessibility. The effect on tourism is also notable as it is the focal point for the beginning of any journey and the main entry point to exploring the country by air or road.

Windhoek has a population of about 300,000 which makes it a very small capital by worldwide standards. The city centre is astonishingly clean and generally safe.

Windhoek is home to Namibia’s brewing industry, and it isn’t difficult to find a cold beer. There are also a number of private hospitals, a state-run hospital, doctors’ surgeries, banks, (with 24hr ATMs) pharmacies, supermarkets, bakeries, and clothing stores. Maerua Mall is a large shopping centre which has a gym and indoor swimming pool. There is also the smaller Post Street Mall at the Town Square as well as at Wernhill Park. There are also two industrial areas: Northern and Southern.

Namibia’s progress since Independence is evident in Windhoek through the presence of new offices and expanding building and commerce industries.

Windhoek is the social, economic, and cultural centre of the country. Most national enterprises have their headquarters in Windhoek, as well as The University of Namibia and the Polytechnic of Namibia, the country’s only theatre, all ministry head offices, and all major media and financial entities.