Home Lesotho


Welcome to The Kingdom of Lesotho

Lesotho, officially the Kingdom of Lesotho, is a landlocked country and enclave, completely surrounded by its only neighboring country, the Republic of South Africa. It is just over 30,000 km2 (11,583 sq mi) in size and has a population of approximately 2,067,000. Its capital and largest city is Maseru. Lesotho is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. The name Lesotho translates roughly into the land of the people who speak Sesotho.

LesothoFast Facts

Full Name: Kingdom of Lesotho

Capital: Maseru

Official language(s): English, Sesotho

Motto: “Khotso, Pula, Nala” (Sotho) – “Peace, Rain, Prosperity”

Demonym: Mosotho (singular), Basotho (plural)

Government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy

– King: Letsie III

– Prime Minister: Tom Thabane

Independence: – from the United Kingdom, October 4, 1966

Area: 30,355 km2

– 2009: estimate 2,067,000

GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $3.804 billion

– Per capita $1,959

GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $2.453 billion

– Per capita $1,264


Lesotho loti (LSL)